Cooperating Agencies
Economic Development
Photo Gallery
NY & Counties
Local Government
NY Connects

30397337 Web Visitors

Home | Search

2016 Highway Department Bid Specifications




Welcome to the official website of Yates County government. We hope your visit to our website is a pleasant and informative experience. Yates County is located in the Finger Lakes Region of New York State, midway between Pennsylvania and Lake Ontario. We are forty five miles southeast of Rochester and fifty miles southwest from Syracuse.

The County has a land area of approximately 338 square miles and includes three of  New York State's Finger Lakes. On the eastern border of Yates County is Seneca Lake, on the western border is Canandaigua Lake, and the mid/southern section is split by Keuka Lake. The scenic lakes and extensive wine industry make Yates County a popular tourist destination.

There are four incorporated villages and nine townships situated within the County and the population is approximately 24,600. Penn Yan, the largest of four villages, is the County seat and is located at the north end of the east branch of Keuka Lake. The topography varies from steep hills and valleys in the western townships of the county to relatively flat land in the northern townships to gently rolling hills and valleys in the south, east and central portions. The County is host to a large agricultural base that also includes a thriving Mennonite population. Some of the various types of agriculture include dairy and crop farms, grape vineyards, and apple orchards.

Limited English Proficiency (LEP) Plan (click here)
Yates County Title VI Policy Statement (click here)

Yates County, NY Travel Info Yates County, NY Election Results 








(c) 2014 Yates County, New York - All Rights Reserved - Privacy Policy